My first blog!!!

Hello Everyone, and welcome to my blog.  I am searching for a publisher for my book “When Your Life is not Your Own” which is the story of my abusive upbringing in a state licensed foster home and the long-lasting consequences that still effect me every day.  That upbringing serves as my motivation to do everything in my power to make sure no other child has to endure that type of childhood.  It is my hope that the book will raise enough money and awareness that I will be able to work directly with schools and state and federal legislators and agencies to work towards prevention in a very proactive manner, and to insure justice for victims if abuse does occur.  I am a regular panelist on SCAN, the Stop Child Abuse Now radio show broadcast on blogtalkradio at http://www.blogtalkradio.com/bill-murray and a board member of NAASCA, the National Association of Adult Survivors of Child Abuse.

I will also be speaking at the Department of Justice’s Defending Childhood Initiative Task Force meeting in Miami on March 19-21.

I am new to this, so please check back often for updates, and if you are a seasoned blogger, author, or publisher, fell free to contact me with advice or assistance.

Thanks!!!  Together we can make a difference in a child’s life!

About edmashek

I have done some of everything. I have Associate’s Degrees in Automotive Technology and Auto Collision Repair. I have a Bachelor’s in Psychology and Business Administration with a Political Science minor which I completed Magna Cum Laude. I completed a certificate program at Georgetown University on Comparative Economic and Political Systems while interning at a PAC on Capitol Hill. Most recently, I completed my MBA in just one year. I survived a botched birth, numerous surgeries, totaled many vehicles, and live with sarcoidosis. I have spent years volunteering for such organizations as The Humane Society, the Prosanctity Center, Camp Easter Seals, and many other organizations that do good deeds. I am handicapped by a wrongful conviction stemming from taking a ride in a stolen car that I did not steal when I was 18, and a wrongful arrest in 2005 that resulted from a computer error. Even though I have a letter from the judge explaining this, they refuse to remove it from my record. I am an avid couchsurfer, and have traveled to about 40 states and 25 countries. I have met and count as friends some of the best people in the world, but have also spent a lot of time around those the world has forgotten. I am an avid wrestler, MMA fighter, motorcyclist, and writer. I am currently working on getting my first book, an autobiography, published. Above all, I am a survivor of severe childhood violent and sexual abuse that occurred in and around the state-licensed home I was placed in at 3 months of age. With all I have done, the effects of that abuse still determine my actions and endeavors more than anything else, and that is what I am doing here. This blog and the associated work I am doing will serve to start an organization or bolster an existing one to work towards eliminating child abuse, teaching prevention and cessation in schools, lobbying our politicians to put the rights and safety of children above any political agenda, and if abuse does occur, to hold those guilty responsible for their actions, no matter how much time has passed or what their job title may be.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

